Creation of application oriented synoptic reference data on geomorphology, sedimentology and hydrodynamics in the German Bight (EasyGSH-DB)


The coastal area of the German Bight is characterized by a diverse formation of islands, mud flats, tufts and estuaries. As a result, complex, non-linear transformations of the tidal and sea processes from the open North Sea to the coast and into the estuaries take place.


This hydro-, sediment- and morphodynamically active area is intensively used as a settlement area, as a recreational area, as a nature reserve and also as an economic area. In particular, for the Marine Strategy Framework Directive (MSFD) (2008) comprehensive data on hydrographic changes (descriptor 7) should be provided. In order to continue to ensure an environmentally friendly supply and to ensure legal and planning security for infrastructure projects in the marine and coastal zone, it requires interdisciplinary and continuous research to expand the knowledge of the natural environment, natural process chains and their response to anthropogenic interventions.


Preview pictures:

 
 

Goals of the project

The aim of the project is to generate quality assured high-resolution reference data sets for the area of the German Bight by using available measurements, hydrodynamic simulations and analysis and make them accessible in a simple way.

 

The geodata and products prepared in the framework of EasyGSH-DB are provided via the existing structures of the Maritime Data Structure Germany (MDI-DE) as well as the information systems of the Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency (BSH) and of the Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (mCloud), thus guaranteeing practical and long-term availability.

 

For the first time, practice-oriented application options are to be systematically developed and prototypically implemented through close cooperation with future users. The early involvement of stakeholders and the organization of a participatory process that continues over the entire duration of the project ensure the focus on practice-relevant products.

 

The work focuses on geomorphologic data for bathymetry and sedimentology as well as hydrological data for hydrodynamics, salt and sediment transport as well as swell. The project structure of EasyGSH-DB therefore offers the possibility for a large number of stakeholders from administration, the maritime industry, research, non-governmental organizations and the interested population to work proactively on the product development of high-resolution, quality-assured databases.

 

Structure and work packages of the project

A data and method bank will be set up for the seafloor, which will describe the compiled natural data as a time-varying digital geomorphological model. This allows planar interpolation and semi-automatically produced consistent models and maps for the relationship between geomorphology, hydrology, sediment composition, and their dynamics. For a period of 20 years, simulation models will be operated as part of a multi-model approach and the quality of the model results will be analyzed and documented.

Based on the model results, analyzes are carried out on a variety of morphological, hydrological and sedimentological parameters. Products are consistent bathymetries, maps and models of the dynamics of morphology, sediment and tide events. The participatory process identifies the stakeholders and their needs for products to be created.

Due to the intensive dialogue between the stakeholders and the project consortium, the linking of requirements is promoted in the phase of participatory product development with possible solutions. Together, we will develop usable prototypical products for selected applications and ensure their usability in test runs.

All products (data, methods, models, complex visualizations) are deployed on the platforms of BSH (Geoseaportal) and MDI-DE (Hosted by KFKI) and merged into MDI-DE and mCLOUD based on a distributed database. They contained metadata is according to the currently valid standards (INSPIRE, WSV) as well as proof of origin and processing. The offer is complemented by e-learning applications on selected topics.


Involved institutions and organisations

EasyGSH-DB

Erstellung anwendungsorientierter synoptischer Referenzdaten
zur Geomorphologie, Sedimentologie und Hydrodynamik
in der Deutschen Bucht

 

Ein mFUND Projekt bei der BAW, Förderzeitraum 31.01.2017 - 31.12.2019

BMVI mFund

mCloud

EasyGSH-DB Dokumentation

EasyGSH-DB Berliner Poster

EasyGSH-DB Portal

AufMod-Projekt

Ziele des Projektes

Ziel des Vorhabens ist es, aus einem Teil der bei den Bundesoberbehörden verfügbaren marinen Geodaten aus Messungen, hydrodynamischen Simulationen und Analyse bisher noch nicht vor­handene hochaufgelöste Referenzdatensätze für den Bereich der Deutschen Bucht flächendeckend und qualitätsgesichert zu erzeugen und diese auf einfachem Wege zugänglich zu machen.

Die Bereitstellung der im Rahmen von EasyGSH-DB aufbereiteten Geodaten und Produkte erfolgt über die bestehenden Strukturen der Marinen Datenstruktur Deutschland (MDI-DE) sowie der In­formationssysteme des Bundesamtes für Seeschifffahrt und Hydrografie (BSH) und des Bundesmi­nisteriums für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (mCloud) und garantiert so eine praxisgerechte Abrufbarkeit sowie langfristige Verfügbarkeit.

Erstmals sollen durch die enge Zusammenarbeit mit zukünftigen Nutzern praxisorientierte Anwen­dungsmöglichkeiten systematisch erarbeitet und prototypisch umgesetzt werden. Durch die früh­zeitige Beteiligung von Stakeholdern und die Organisation eines über die gesamte Projektlaufzeit andauernden Partizipationsprozesses wird die Fokussierung auf praxisrelevante Produkte sicher­gestellt.

Der Arbeitsschwerpunkt liegt auf geomorphologischen Basisdaten für Bathymetrie und Sedimento­logie sowie hydrologischer Daten für Hydrodynamik, Salz- und Sedimenttransport sowie Seegang. Die Projektstruktur von EasyGSH-DB bietet darum für eine Vielzahl von Stakeholdern aus Verwal­tung, maritimer Wirtschaft, Forschung, Nichtregierungsorganisationen sowie der interessierten Be­völkerung die Möglichkeit, proaktiv an der Produktentwicklung von hochauflösenden, qualitätsge­sicherten Datenbeständen mitzuarbeiten.

Beteiligte Institutionen und Organisationen

Bundesanstalt für Wasserbau (BAW)

Bundesamt für Seeschifffahrt und Hydrographie (BSH)

Technische Universität Hamburg, Institut für Wasserbau (TUHH)

smile consult GmbH (Smile)

Küste und Raum (KuR)

Struktur und Arbeitspakete des Projektes

Erstellung qualitätsgesicherter Datensätze für die Deutsche Bucht

Für den Gewässerboden wird eine Daten- und Methodenbank aufgebaut, die die zusammengetra­genen Naturdaten als zeitvariantes digitales geomorphologisches Modell beschreibt. Dies erlaubt flächenhafte Interpolationen und teilautomatisch produzierte konsistente Modelle und Karten über den Zusammenhang von Geomorphologie, Hydrologie, Sedimentzusammensetzung und deren Dy­namik. Für einen Zeitraum von 20 Jahren werden im Rahmen eines Multi-Modellansatzes Simulati­onsmodelle betrieben und die Modellergebnisse qualitätsgesichert, analysiert und dokumentiert.

Datenanalyse zu Geomorphologie, Hydrologie, Bodensedimenten und Nutzerstruktur

Basierend auf den Modellergebnissen werden Analysen zu einer Vielzahl morphologischer, hydro­logischer und sedimentologischer Parameter durchgeführt. Produkte sind konsistente Bathy­metrien, Karten und Modelle zur Dynamik von Morphologie, Sediment und Tidengeschehen. Im Rahmen des Partizipationsprozesses werden die Stakeholder sowie ihre Bedarfe hinsichtlich zu er­stellender Produkte identifiziert.

Partizipative Entwicklung prototypischer Anwendungen

Durch den intensiven Dialog zwischen den Stakeholdern und Projektkonsortium wird in der Phase der Partizipativen Produktentwicklung die Verknüpfung der Bedarfe mit möglichen Lösungsansät­zen vorangetrieben. Gemeinsam werden anwendungsfähige prototypische Produkte für ausge­wählte Anwendungsfälle entwickelt und deren Gebrauchstauglichkeit in Testläufen sichergestellt.

Visualisierung, Bereitstellung und Speicherung von Produkten

Alle Produkte (Daten, Methoden, Modelle, komplexe Visualisierungen) werden auf den Plattformen von BSH (Shelf Geo-Explorer) und MDI-DE (Hosted-by-KFKI) bereitgestellt und basierend auf einer verteilten Datenbasis in MDI-DE und mCLOUD zusammengeführt Sie enthalten Metadaten gemäß der aktuell geltenden Standards (INSPIRE, WSV) sowie Qualitätsnachweise über Herkunft und Be­arbeitung. Ergänzt wird das Angebot durch E-Learning Anwendungen zu ausgewählten Themen.

 


Ansprechpartner:

Daten und Modellierung:

BAW:  Dr. Andreas Plüß | Wedeler Landstr. 157 | D – 22559 Hamburg | 040 – 81908 417 | andreas.pluess@baw.de

Partizipationsprozess:

Küste und Raum: Dr. Jürgen Meyerdirks | Katrepeler Landstr. 27 | D – 28357 Bremen | 0421 – 3648 0678 | juergen.meyerdirks@kueste-und-raum.de